Nigel Miller appointed chair of new Ruminant Health and Welfare Group

Nigel Miller appointed chair of new Ruminant Health and Welfare Group

Nigel Miller has been appointed as chair of the newly formed Ruminant Health and Welfare Group (RHWG) with effect from the 1st June 2020 for a two-year term.

Nigel Miller, chair of the Ruminant Health and Welfare Group (RHWG).

Miller, a qualified vet and former NFU Scotland (NFUS) president, will lead the independent cattle and sheep industry group which is aimed at speeding up progress against endemic diseases and reputational challenges which are costing the cattle and sheep sectors at least £500 million per year.

He was appointed through open competition by a panel consisting of the chief veterinary officer for UK, the chief veterinary officer for Scotland, the CEO of the National Sheep Association and the chief technical officer for AHDB.

The RHWG has been formed following an industry-wide consultation that showed a majority supporting the move in principle, with many believing it will accelerate work to control conditions like liver fluke, mastitis and lameness.

Miller said: “Endemic diseases in ruminants do not respect country borders or political boundaries and are a significant concern to farmers, the wider industry, Governments and consumers due to their impact on animal health, welfare and food production.

“The RHWG will work independently to bring the industry and Governments together to work collaboratively to speed up the fight against endemic disease in ruminants. I am committed to make this work for both sheep and cattle producers and excited to be part of a group that is focused on positive change.’

Mr Miller will receive a non-pensionable remuneration of £7,379 per annum, based on a time commitment 24 days per year.

The RHWG is now seeking applications for the role of secretary general to support the chair in ensuring the work of the group is delivered at pace. Further details can be found in the careers portal on the AHDB website here. The closing date for applications is 12 noon on Monday 15 June 2020.

Previous / Next posts...

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *