Scottish government appoints new QMS Board members

Scottish government appoints new QMS Board members

The Cabinet Secretary for Rural Affairs and Islands, Mairi Gougeon MSP, has announced the appointment of several Members of the Board of Quality Meat Scotland (QMS).

Kate Rowell, Quality Meat Scotland chair, welcomed the new Board members

The new appointments include:

  • Ian Bentley, who currently holds a non-executive role with Scotbeef Ltd, one of Scotland’s largest meat processors. He is also active in both Scottish and UK meat trade associations.

  • Peter Brown, who worked for six years with the Highlands and Islands Development Board, then became founder and managing director of Scottish Food Quality Certification (Edinburgh) and CMi Certification (Oxford). He has been involved for over 20 years in the establishment of farm assurance schemes across the UK and further afield.

  • Adrian Ivory, who took over the running of his family farm in 2004. He sits on the British Simmental Council, was a member of the British Charolais Council and was awarded a Fellowship of the Royal Agricultural Societies in 2019.

  • Scott Jarron, who has directed Scott Brothers Butchers in Dundee for the last 15 years. He was president of Scottish Craft Butchers and contributed to the Scottish Red Meat Resilience Group, and The Beef Strategy 2030 Group. He has also served as president of Dundee & District Master Butchers.

  • Niall Jeffrey, who is a mixed beef and arable farmer based in East Lothian. He is currently an Agri-EPI Centre satellite farmer and, in 2018, he won the AgriScot Scotch Beef Farmer of the Year.

Commenting on the new appointments, Kate Rowell chair of Quality Meat Scotland (QMS) said: “Each of the new board members brings a wide range of skills and expertise and demonstrates a commitment to promote, protect, develop and support Scotland’s red meat industry.

“Scott, Peter, Niall, Ian and Adrian join us at a time where our industry continues to meet challenges and changes – such as labour shortages, skills development and the upcoming changes to farm support payments. The team at QMS look forward to working with each of them.”

She added: “I’d like to take this opportunity to thank the hard work and dedication of Sarah Mackie, Louise Welsh and Julie Fitzpatrick who have completed their second term and who have now stepped from their positions.”

Previous / Next posts...