Winners of National BBQ Awards announced

Winners of National BBQ Awards announced

On Sunday night, the Q Guild of Butchers announced the winners of its National BBQ Awards at a ceremony held in the Aubrey Park Hotel, Hertfordshire.

The competition aims to find the best BBQ products produced by wide members across the following categories:

Traditional pork sausage, specialty sausage, traditional burger, speciality burger, rump steak and speciality BBQ product.

The panel of experts who judged the products to a criteria including visual appeal, commerciality, presentation and taste, were Karl Pendlebury of AHDB and Tom Lavelle from The Alfresco Chef.

The Butchers Cup


The products were also cooked by one of the UK’s up and coming BBQ chefs, Sam Wanstall from Torque Pitt BBQ.

This year’s Supreme Champion was Dales Traditional Butcher from Kirkby Lonsdale, which won the speciality product category with its Lamb rump.

Judges’ comments include: “This really was the very best product of the day. The flavour was just gorgeous. The closest thing to heaven on a BBQ!”

The Supreme Champion, Mark Duckworth, commented: “I was completely gobsmacked! It’s a great achievement for all our staff.”

The Supreme Champion, Mark Duckworth

The runner up was Chris Hayman Butcher, with its Caribbean pork & pineapple kebabs.

Other winners announced were James of Shepperton who won pork sausage and speciality burger.

Walter Smith was the winner of beef burger, and speciality sausage winner was Higginsons of Grange with their Cumberland & cranberry sausage.

Robert Alexander – Port Glasgow won rump steak, with judges commenting it: “ticked all the boxes, good texture, flavour and tenderness.”

The BBQ Awards are held annually and are open to any of the 100 plus members of the Q Guild of Butchers throughout the UK.

The Q Guild represents a group of independent meat retailers in Britain and is synonymous with skills, craftsmanship and above all, quality.

A few winners of the National BBQ Awards


Previous / Next posts...