Mark Spencer knighted for Parliamentary Service

Mark Spencer knighted for Parliamentary Service

Farming Minister Mark Spencer has been awarded a Knighthood in a ‘surprise’ honours list unveiled by Prime Minister Rishi Sunak.

Mark Spencer, Minister of State for Food, Farming and Fisheries.

Minister of State for the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra) Mark Spencer will receive a Knighthood for ‘Public and Parliamentary Service’.

Spencer served as Chief Whip between 2019 and 2022, before being appointed Minister for Defra in September 2022.

In an interview with the BBC, Spencer said he was “still trying to process it” but said his focus was “still the same as it ever was”.

The honours list also contained three other MPs receiving recognition for ‘Public and Parliamentary Service’:

  • Harriett Baldwin, MP for West Worcestershire
  • Tracey Crouch CBE, MP for Chatham and Aylesford
  • Philip Davies, MP for Shipley

Previous / Next posts...

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *