Team GB named for World Butchers’ Challenge 2018

Team GB named for World Butchers’ Challenge 2018

The World Butchers’ Challenge UK Council Committee has announced the six butchers that will represent Team Great Britain at the World Butchers’ Challenge 2018 which will take place on 21st March 2018 at the Titanic Exhibition Centre in Belfast.

Left to Right: Danny Upson, Tom Wood, Mark Ramsay, Peter Harrison, Bryce Lawson, Jessica Leliuga, Simon Taylor, Mick Foley and Jeff Wilkinson.

The event is set to be the biggest global butchery competition to date with the best butchers across the world coming together to compete.

The new GB team, known as the British Beefeaters, have been named as: Michael Dufton from Knitsley Farm Shop; Mark Ramsay of Falleninch Farm Butchers, Stirling; Simon Taylor from Surrey Hills Butchers, Oxshot; Bryce Lawson of McMurchie Meats, Hetton-le-Hole, County Durham; Jessica Leliuga, Ye OIde Sausage Shop, Oswaldtwistle, Lancs; and Tom Wood who will be team captain, from Tom Wood Artisan Butchers.

Team reserves include Mick Foley from Mainstream Foods, Stonebroom, Derbyshire and Peter Harrison of Dalziel.

Team GB is sponsored by retail butchery specialist Dalziel, Lucas Ingredients and The Institute of Meat.

Dalziel’s Danny Upson, chair of WBC UK Council Committee, explained: “The standard of applicants has never been as high as this year, and getting to this level is a great achievement.

“Importantly, this is about raising the profile of the butchery industry and raising standards as a craft to be proud of.”

During selection process, which was hosted by Leeds City College butchery school, finalists were tasked with creating four value meat products from chicken, beef topside and pork loin, with one hour to showcase their butchery, creativity, innovation and display skills.

Team captain, Tom Wood, said: “We were looking for that extra spark and quality.

“And they certainly provided the ‘wow’ factor and a very tough decision. We congratulate all our finalists on a cracking achievement.”

Countries competing for the world title include Great Britain, France (current champions), Australia, New Zealand, USA, Ireland, Germany, Italy, Bularia, South Africa, Greece, and Spain.

Previous / Next posts...